Skip to content

Degrees Not to Earn – Yahoo! Education

February 7, 2013
The Seven Liberal Arts by Marten de Vos, 1590

The Seven Liberal Arts by Marten de Vos, 1590 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I see articles like this a lot lately…filling in some copy space in the 24 hour news cycle.  I get that.  You need something to write, and here is a ready-made list that, on the surface, seems relevant: looking to go to college, don’t study this!  The list!

So, out of self-flagellation I read these lists, only to see my degree (ok, I have a literature degree which is, really, just a more specific liberal arts degree) rounding out the top of the do-not-get list.

I really wish I would have paid attention to these sorts of things as an undergrad.  I think that honing a really cool world-view could have been a nice add-on to a paying degree over being the central theme to a degree that doesn’t pay the mortgage.

Degrees Not to Earn – Yahoo! Education.

7 Comments
  1. kirkistan permalink
    February 7, 2013 4:19 pm

    Dear Burnt-Out Adjunct: I sympathize with your point. And yet, I maintain my undergrad degree in philosophy has opened doors of work that would otherwise remain shut. I’m not solving teleology questions for my clients–or am I? Doesn’t every bit of work we do add to our reasons for being? I think the larger problem is the chasm between thinking and doing. When I teach I try to marry those two, no matter how my students rebel.

    • Piss Poor Professor permalink
      February 7, 2013 4:38 pm

      I treasure my degree because it moved me from a family whose idea of upward mobility it determining which branch of the military to join to a first-generation college graduate at ease with any idea, ideology or paradigm. Saying that, I have also had to reinvent myself multiple times in order to generate a decent paycheck. Nothing I currently do professionally was available to me in my course work. I NEVER engage in philosophical musings about, my god no, Lacanian mirror theories or if Derrida really “meant” all that…

      While I smirk as I write that (extreme personal satisfaction occurs daily with the ability, honed in graduate school, to eviscerate a given idea or point of view, laying bare its essential nature), I still insist that the liberal arts be an accompaniment, a corrolary, not the goal.

    • pisspoorprof permalink*
      February 7, 2013 4:46 pm

      I treasure my degree because it moved me from a family whose idea of upward mobility it determining which branch of the military to join to a first-generation college graduate at ease with any idea, ideology or paradigm. Saying that, I have also had to reinvent myself multiple times in order to generate a decent paycheck. Nothing I currently do professionally was available to me in my course work. I NEVER engage in philosophical musings about, my god no, Lacanian mirror theories or if Derrida really “meant” all that…

      While I smirk as I write that (extreme personal satisfaction occurs daily with the ability, honed in graduate school, to eviscerate a given idea or point of view, laying bare its essential nature), I still insist that the liberal arts be an accompaniment, a corrolary, not the goal.

Trackbacks

  1. College Majors to Avoid + Rebuttal « conversation is an engine
  2. Why I counsel against the Liberal Arts degree « Burnt-out Adjunct
  3. The Unbearable Sadness of Adjunct « conversation is an engine

Comments are closed.

