Skip to content

Write On: Carl Hiaasan

June 7, 2009
Cover to first edition
Image via Wikipedia

One of the new additions to this blog will be a periodic nod of approval toward some writer I am/have reading/read. Todays’s thumbs up goes to Carl Hiaasan. I have made it through four of his books–not the one mentioned here–and while I have read better stylists, Hiaasan is a good and consistent read.

The book to the right is the most recent I have read.  The protagonist is a struggling reporter whose adherence to his ethics/cause finally sees him through.  He also clubs an attacker with a frozen, dead iguana.

The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
Carl Hiaasen
colbertnation.com
Colbert Report Full Episodes Political Humor Keyboard Cat
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Comment
  1. Ronni permalink
    June 13, 2009 5:47 pm

    Can I ask your advice? I am a full-time working mom, but all I really want to do is stay at home with my baby (and future children). I am working on my MBA now and have 7 years corporate experience in Business, Finance and Accounting, but no real teaching experience.

    I am thinking of taking a year off to go to school full-time (online) and finish my MBA. After that, do you think: (1)anyone will hire me with just an MBA and no teaching experience and (2) that I’ll be able to make $1000-$1500 (net) a month?

    Obviously I don’t expect to replace my corporate salary by teaching online, but I just need to make enough to cover some of our household expenses and have a little extra spending money.

    In my head, this sounds like the perfect plan for me, but after reading some of your posts I’m beginning to think teaching online is not all that wonderful as I think it is.

Comments are closed.

