Skip to content

Just a quick update

August 28, 2006

Just a quick update:

  • Visit to grandparent went better than expected.  She, though, looks as if to not be long for this world.  I am deeply saddened by that.
  • At the start of August I had no classes scheduled to teach for the coming fall…by mid-August I still had none.  I now have six.  Such is the nature of adjuncting.  
  • They are all online.  I never get to see my students.
  • I will also be transitioning from my current project to one just outside The City.  I will commute during the week, working M-R.  It will be hard on the family.  But, we need the money.  Such is the life of an adjunct.
  • Stress has not gotten any better.
3 Comments
  1. Chunk Wheeler permalink
    August 28, 2006 7:53 pm

    Rob, check out Dissent the Blog for a favorable mention of your blog.

  2. Piss Poor Prof permalink
    August 29, 2006 6:17 pm

    No “Rob” here, but I will check out the link.

  3. Spring permalink
    September 1, 2006 4:41 pm

    Boy, do I know last minute adjunct requests. I once got a call after the first day of class, asking me to take over for a prof that had had an emotional breakdown in front of his students on the first day. Sure, I wanted to say ‘no thanks,’ but I needed the money. And if you say no once, it’s a long time before they call you back. I should have gotten a damned bonus for that class…

Comments are closed.

