Skip to content

A Peak behind the Curtain

August 10, 2006

Here is a quick take on my life at the moment, taking a break from the political and educational posts:

  • I will be flying to The Red State (there is only one like this one) to visit my
    Memaw. Hospice has been called, and I need to go. Hopefully, the call
    was premature.
  • I have applied online to a local law school. I will have to take the LSAT, so I don’t
    know, still, if this is the way I want to go.
  • I have a stack of 20-odd books on my dissertation topic (roughly) that I got from
    the library. Ostensibly I am using them to fill out the prospectus section on the current state of scholarship in my area/topic. They have been sitting there for a week now.
  • I am at a crossroads, and I am not sure as to where I want/need to focus my
    energies. No signs are coming.
  • Pookie starts kindergarten this year. I dread her going away to school. The first 5 years have gone so fast that the next 12 will surely go as fast and then she will be gone. [Well, that was pathetically over-dramatic…but I am still sad]
  • Lovely Wife has an interview today. If it goes well, and I hope it does, she will be working in her field for the first time since getting the MA. Small town is rough for an Ivy grad.
  • My Dad has been diagnosed recently with Parkinson’s Disorder, which is not the
    Disease, but close enough. Lots of bad news lately.
  • I missed my Papaw’s funeral 6 years ago, and I still feel guilty. I was out of the country at the time and had just visited him maybe two weeks before, but still. I caught his last lucent moments—after driving for two straight days—literally walking up to the bed-side and having 5 minutes before what we think was a stroke took him away. I dread that I will do the same with Memaw.
  • Memaw and Papaw are such Southern names for grandparents.
  • I really wish that I had more comments from the posts I have been putting up. I am getting a little discouraged.
7 Comments
  1. Miranda permalink
    August 11, 2006 1:42 am

    I hope things go the way you want them to with Mewmaw and the other stuff will tend to sort itself out in its time.

  2. Teri permalink
    August 11, 2006 3:53 am

    new job, schedule upheaval… no time to compose witty, intelligent comments. (Who am I trying to kid? My comments were never witty and intelligent in the first place.)

  3. Piss Poor Prof permalink
    August 11, 2006 4:29 am

    Thanks Terri and Miranda. Your comments, both here and elsewhere, have been both encouraging and intelligent.

    I am up doing last minute tasks before flying out…oh, and drinking up all of my carry-on beverages. Stinkin’ terror plots.

  4. Diana permalink
    August 11, 2006 12:49 pm

    Sorry you are at such a place of unease. I hope writing about it helps sort things out. It does me. I hear you on the kindergarten thing. My son is 7 and my daughter is 3, so I’ve both been through it and have it coming up, again, next year (out here, kindergarten starts at age 4). I dreaded his because it was the first. I’m dreading hers because it’s the last.

  5. karmic_jay permalink
    August 11, 2006 2:20 pm

    Sorry about where you are today. Hang in there. I think writing about it might ease things a bit.

    I will try to read you regularly.
    Ame over from Teri’s place she is just amazing.

  6. moegirl permalink
    August 14, 2006 2:25 am

    Don’t be discouraged, I always imagine for every comment there is at least five more readers…right?

    Hope your wife lands a good job, you ace your LSATS. Much bloggy mojo.

  7. Piss Poor Prof permalink
    August 15, 2006 12:51 pm

    Thanks everyone. I am heartened, and I will keep in mind the 5:1 ratio. I know this is fairly accurate given the hitcounts.

    I will update more specifically in a post.

    Thanks again.

Comments are closed.

