Skip to content

Bardiac

March 13, 2006

Bardiac says that I have long known:
“(What does it say that I discourage my best students from studying to do what I do? I love what I do, after all. But the job market is horrid, and anyone coming from Northwoods U, and competing against students from Ivies or near Ivies is going to have a heck of a time getting into the best programs or having any real shot at jobs. )”

In graduate school I was warned–actually questioned–about continuing with my studies. It went something like this:

WiseAss (he was both): Why are you studying English–there are no jobs for non-minorities.
Me: It is something that I love and I can’t imagine not doing…
WA: [rolling his eyes]well good luck on that.

He was, by the way, a post-structuralist critic with Derrida on his dissertation committee. I blew him off because:
A. he was a post-structuralist with Derrida on his committee
B. I felt him to be an officious pin-head with little knowledge of the “real world”
C. I still had a missionary zeal.

Ten years down the road, I’ve got nowhere to run…I’ve got nowhere to go (with apologies to Bruce).

One Comment
  1. macncheese permalink
    March 13, 2006 6:38 pm

    I just found your blog through Dead Dad. It’s good to hear someone confirming some of the observations I’ve had in my short two years as an adjunct. I’ll be passing along your blog info to others.

Comments are closed.

